Full list of schools in England affected by unsafe concrete published by government


Full list of schools in England affected by unsafe concrete published by government

The government has finally published a list of schools identified with collapse-prone concrete after days of mounting pressure.

The list published by the Department for Education showed 19 schools where the start of term has had to be delayed as a result of reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (RAAC).

Four schools had to open remotely while the rest were a mix of remote and face to face.

The list comes just before the first PMQs since the summer recess, which is expected to dominated by the issue of Britain’s crumbling schools.

Ministers had been facing calls to “come clean” on the issue after announcing 104 schools in England would have to close or partially close due to concerns about reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (RAAC).

The order came days before the start of the new school term, leaving headteachers in a last-minute scramble to find temporary accommodation and forcing some pupils to return to COVID pandemic-style remote learning.

Politics latest: Starmer attacks Sunak on school crisis; ‘more difficult news’ coming for Keegan | PMQs live

The government said the closures were in addition to 52 schools that already had mitigation measures in place due to RAAC – but it had refused to publicly reveal the facilities or clarify how many schools have had to shut entirely.

Education Secretary Gillian Keegan promised on Monday to publish the list by the end of the week, including the details of initial mitigations in place.

“After this, we will provide updated information as new cases of RAAC are confirmed and existing cases resolved,” she told the House of Commons.

The list of schools, published on the Government website, is:

Myatt Garden Primary School, in Lewisham, southeast London
Seven Mills Primary School, in Tower Hamlets, east London
The Ellen Wilkinson School for Girls, in Ealing, west London
St Ignatius College, in Enfield, north London
Welbourne Primary School, in Haringey, north London
St John Vianney RC Primary School, in Haringey, north London
Hornsey School for Girls, in Haringey, north London
Brandhall Primary School
St William of York Catholic Primary School
St Andrew’s CofE Primary School, Over Hulton
All Saints C of E Primary School
Abbey Lane Primary School
Pippins School
Stanway Fiveways Primary School
Baynards Primary School
Great Leighs Primary School
Henham and Ugley Primary and Nursery School
Bentfield Primary School and Nursery
White Court School
Beehive Lane Community Primary School
Eversley Primary School
Holy Trinity CofE Primary School, Eight Ash Green and Aldham
St Lawrence Church of England Primary School, Rowhedge
Great Tey Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School
Hatfield Peverel St Andrew’s Junior School
Broomfield Primary School
Mersea Island School
Markyate Village School and Nursery
Widford School
Palmarsh Primary School
Birchington Church of England Primary School
St James’ Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School
St Bartholomew’s Catholic Primary School, Swanley
Bispham Endowed Church of England Primary School
Our Lady’s Catholic High School
Mayflower Primary School
Parks Primary School
Donnington Wood Infant School and Nursery Centre
Thurston Community College
Shawfield Primary School
St Paul’s Catholic Primary School, Thames Ditton
Park View School
Springfield Primary School
Outwoods Primary School
Denbigh School
Sale Grammar School
The Appleton School
King Ethelbert School
Holcombe Grammar School
The Coopers’ Company and Coborn School
Wood Green Academy
The Honywood Community Science School
The Billericay School
Aston Manor Academy
Hadleigh High School
The Palmer Catholic Academy
The London Oratory School
Tendring Technology College
East Bergholt High School
Hounsdown School
Thurstable School Sports College and Sixth Form Centre
Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School
Waddesdon Church of England School
Wallingford School
Woodkirk Academy
Batley Girls High School
St Clere’s School
Sandbach School
Carmel College
Anglo European School
St Thomas More Catholic School, Blaydon
The Gilberd School
The Thomas Lord Audley School
St Helena School
East Tilbury Primary School
Clacton County High School
White Hall Academy and Nursery
Altrincham College
Cleeve Park School
Joyce Frankland Academy, Newport
Danetree Primary School
The Bromfords School
Royal College Manchester (Seashell Trust)
The Ramsey Academy, Halstead
Redhill School
Ark Boulton Academy
Woodville Primary School
Holy Trinity Catholic Voluntary Academy
Thomas Bullock Church of England Primary and Nursery Academy
Water Lane Primary Academy
Katherine Semar Junior School
Katherine Semar Infant School
Mistley Norman Church of England Primary School
Hatfield Heath Primary School
St Thomas More Catholic Comprehensive School
Godinton Primary School
St Francis Catholic Primary School, South Ascot
The FitzWimarc School
Winter Gardens Academy
Cherry Tree Academy
Prince Albert Junior and Infant School
Cockermouth School
Northampton International Academy
St Gregory’s Catholic Science College
Bishop Douglass School Finchley
Lubbins Park Primary Academy
Scalby School
Arthur Bugler Primary School
St Leonard’s Catholic School, Durham
Canon Slade School
Claydon High School
Harlowbury Primary School
Kingsdown School
Katherines Primary Academy and Nursery
Sir Thomas Boughey Academy
Harwich and Dovercourt High School
Ferryhill School
Wyburns Primary School
Jerounds Primary Academy
Roding Valley High School
Lambourne Primary School
Hillhouse CofE Primary School
Barnes Farm Junior School
St Elizabeth’s Catholic Voluntary Academy
Hockley Primary School
Chipping Ongar Primary School
Langney Primary Academy
St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School
St Mary and St John Junior and Infant School
St John Catholic Primary School
St Anne’s Catholic Primary School, Harlow Green
St Francis’ Catholic Primary School
Buckhurst Hill Community Primary School
Sunny Bank Primary School
St Benet’s Catholic Primary School, Ouston
St Bede’s Catholic School and Byron Sixth Form College
St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School
Wells Park School
St James’ Catholic Primary School, Hebburn
St John Bosco Catholic Primary School, Town End Farm, Sunderland
St Columba’s Catholic Primary School, Wallsend
St John Vianney Catholic Primary School, West Denton
The Holy Family Catholic School, a Voluntary Academy
St Michael’s Catholic School
Elmstead Primary School

Ministers expect hundreds more schools could be affected as they await the results of building surveys.

Ms Keegan came under fire on Tuesday for telling school leaders to “get off their backsides” and complete the forms.

It was the latest mishap after she was caught on camera bemoaning a lack of thanks for doing a “f***ing good job” while other people are “sat on their arses”.

Rishi Sunak is also facing criticism for rejecting a funding request to fix 200 schools while chancellor.

The prime minister defended himself by saying he committed to a major programme to fix around 50 schools a year over a 10 year period – but the Department for Education confirmed on Tuesday that just four have been rebuilt since 2021.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.